SQUARE.JW.01Right, that’s it – Friday pm rush-hour about to start, c’est le weekend….as the long forgotten Cathy McGowan* used to say, the weekend starts here . And what better place to start than the weather forcasters, those thoroughly deserved butts of many a Slogag.

47290To your left here is today’s weather forecast for my area here. As I have a tool that snips (male lions have something similar) I was able to capture for your amusement the French official meteo site declaring itself guilty of incompetence by expecting celestial incontinence when what we had was nothing but the blazing radiance of our nearest star.

To make a 100% wrong forecast is careless. To show that you did it on your own site is at best honest, and at worst brainless.

Luckily, I live in an area where real farmers with real hay to turn have real jobs, and as part of the deal the French civil service gives them access to the CIA’s weather reports. I’m serious. So last night,  chatting on the phone to my nearest neighbour, I said “We’re getting rain tomorrow”, to which he replied, “No, it’s not arriving until after midnight”.

Many years ago, the CIA decided that doing régime-change stuff might be more successful if they had accurate weather forecasts to aid invasions by Freedom Fighters: I suspect the Bay of Pigs may have influenced their decision, but anyway the result is that they do produce by far the most accurate forecasts on the planet. Cynics might argue that this isn’t that tough if you’re creating half of it yourself….but I couldn’t possibly comment.

The weather predictions they put out are restricted, but – as I’ve posted before – the vast majority of the site isn’t. It’s important to bear in mind that the CIA’s site – and here it is –  is not there to pump out US propaganda. It does do this (natch) but not in the data – because that’s there for operatives to use. Open your minds, people: if you just want to know what the raw numbers are, the Central Intelligence Agency is your servant. The really deranged agitprop is the job of Fox News, Bloomberg, the White House, and Hillary Clinton’s election website. After that your sole reliable source is Bernie Sanders. It’s your call.

≡ ≡ ≡ ≡ ° ° ° ° ° ° ° ° ° ≡ ≡ ≡ ≡

Today I contributed to the downfall of repurchase-compulsive neoliberalism by mending a broken garden rake. It broke because the wood at the base had gone rotten. In cleaning out the rotten wood from its holder and then refitting the rest of the pole (which was perfectly serviceable) I broke only a screwdriver, two nails and a hammerhead. As I am long in screwdrivers, nails and hammers, I’m putting this down as a score-draw between me and the globalist Establishment.

But shopping cannot be put off forever. This morning I went to the kitchen blackboard and discovered I’d made a note to buy more Garlic fabric conditioner. I’d also jotted down the need for powerjet chlorine mouthwash and vacuum cleaner cumin. No, I don’t inhabit a surreal world: but if I don’t write down shortages at random these days, I go short.

≡ ≡ ≡ ≡ ° ° ° ° ° ° ° ° ° ≡ ≡ ≡ ≡

Five members of the UK Shadow Cabinet have backed demands for Jeremy Corbyn to expel Ken Livingstone from the Labour party permanently over remarks denounced as antisemitic and “beyond disgraceful”. What we are looking at here is not an expression of principles, but yet another attempt to change the principals in charge of the Labour Party.

One owner of The Slog would like to expel from the Labour Party all those who want to permanently expel anyone from a Party.

For myself, I deplore the following: anti-Semitism, Netanyahou opportunism, and violent Islamist/Hamas extremism.

But I am old enough to realise that all mores are moveable feasts when they relate to specific causes. Single issue ‘logic’ rarely endures.

The following I see as enduring: the Universe, genuine open-minded enlightenment, Time relativity, the illusion of separation, and all the enduring things I didn’t learn about yet.

*Cathy McGowan, iconic presenter of Ready Steady Go

Cathy