At the End of the Day

The not so green grass of Home

Before the paperless office, I do not ever remember needing eight bits of printed paper to accompany me on a simple flight + car + room. Before the ‘wireless’ age, I do not recall having entire cupboards filled with wires. Before the computer printer era, I seem to remember things called photocopiers that worked with the press of a single button. I can’t remember the last time a pc printer did anything much except jam, flash red lights at me, refuse to print any app-derived pdf, or just gather dust. And I’m still waiting for someone to explain WTF the point of apps is in the first place.

Anyway, as from tomorrow I’ll be travelling around and about for a bit. I thought of undertaking a March of Hope towards Somewhere Nice on foot in order to show how wonderful Germany is, but as most people doing that are marching by train, I’ve decided to do so by air. It is, after all, not fair to take much needed train seats when those with no money need them more than the rest of us. Equally, air travel isn’t quite so hard on the feet.

But enough of this casually incorrect sarcasm: our Divine Leader Avid of the Scamerons has decreed that 20,000 migrant refugees shall be settled in Britain. I do not doubt that he has arrived at this figure after serious and due diligence, and devoid of any pressure from opinion polls, tabloid hysteria, German Chancellors, or the missus. To be brutally frank here, I no longer GAF how many people get settled where just so long as sanity returns on the following three dimensions:

  1. No more bombing of Islamist nutters, no more wishfully unthinking evasion of the practicalities, no more so far up Washington’s botty you can’t see our feet
  2. No more corrective seminars about Islamophobia, no more fellow-travelling by Jihadiphiles, no more appeasement of misogynist stone-age ignorance
  3. No more politicians showboating about tragedy in order to get re-elected.

↔ ↔ ↔ ↔ ↔ ↔ ↔ ↔

The next six days shall witness the voyages of the Hardship Enterprise, Captain James T. Slog at the controls……….singeing the odd beard while meeting up with Chumleigh-Warners here and there for a spot of luncheon during which the odd infinitive might be boldly split, and several expletives spat. I am fully expecting the ears of MI101 to be everywhere, ready and willing to pounce on unsuspecting NVEs wherever we might raise our tedious points of order in relation to the Rule of Law and equality before that Law….perhaps truculent on the subject of level playing fields, or possibly a tad bolshie about the nepotism of legs up, and the corrupting nature of legs over.

What fun we shall have.

Earlier at The Slog: Migrant Refugees – The Movie

30 thoughts on “At the End of the Day

  1. Notwithstanding that those three dimensions may be out of time, they are most certainly desirable. Bon voyage et bon retour.. or detour, the preferred binary brain version it seems.

    Like

  2. Please do not leave us , your discipkes, mein liebling .

    If you are coming to Berlin I can put you up in Adolf ‘ s bunker ….. sharing with Wolfgang who I am told rants about ” the old days ” in his sleep ….

    Like

  3. angelteuton
    Your comment is awaiting moderation.
    SEPTEMBER 7, 2015 AT 8:49 PM REPLY
    Please do not leave us , your discipkes, mein liebling .

    If you are coming to Berlin I can put you up in Adolf ‘ s bunker ….. sharing with Wolfgang who I am told rants about ” the old days ” in his sleep ….

    Like

  4. angelteuton
    SEPTEMBER 7, 2015 AT 8:50 PM REPLY
    angelteuton
    Your comment is awaiting moderation.
    SEPTEMBER 7, 2015 AT 8:49 PM REPLY
    Please do not leave us , your discipkes, mein liebling .

    If you are coming to Berlin I can put you up in Adolf ‘ s bunker ….. sharing with Wolfgang who I am told rants about ” the old days ” in his sleep ….but he is really very docile .. or possibly decile even

    Like

  5. I think of a computer as hardware, an operating system such as Windows and then other software that allows one to do useful things. About a year ago, I bought my first smart-phone. I had resisted till then as I had no need for a mobile phone. Once I had bought it, I realized that it was potentially a very useful tool. For example, I discovered that with $10 I could buy a birding App that has more information in it than the several hundred dollars worth of books that I have in my library. Another pass-time that I enjoy is a month of long-distance walking in France and Spain each year. I have an IGN App that gives me access to all of the French IGN maps. I have downloaded my e-mail App and so can take a photo with my photo App and then send my photo and a few words to keep friends and family informed. I have downloaded the Skype App so that I can call them as well and to phone ahead to see if there is room in the Inn. At 74 I no longer walk all day. In my off time I am able to read books on my Kindle App. I have downloaded the complete works of Hemingway, Woolfe, Fitzgerald, Wilde and a few others for this year’s trip. I also have another App that uses Google Maps and the build-in GPS to record statistics of my walk and then upload a file to my computer here in Quebec. I also have other Apps that turns my smart-phone into an altimeter and a compass. In summary, Apps are what turns a 150 gram smart phone into something very useful.

    Bon Voyage!

    Like

  6. For some reason I haven’t ever fathomed, computer printers and printing has always been an utter pain in the arse. Windows uses various drivers to do this; Linux uses CUPS, of which the less said the better. Only Sendmail is a more Byzantine, overcomplicated obscenity of a system ( if anyone ever mentions sendmail macros, hit them. Hard.).

    For everything else, try to stick to standard applications like simple email and the like. That way, you’re only fighting the interface. Old is better, usually. Simple is better. Anything that cannot be explained in a couple of minutes is too complicated to be useful.

    Most of the Internet is reinvention, often the same mistakes being made over and over again. Cynical? I only work in this field; pays pretty good but I’d rather be a biologist like I trained to be.

    Like

  7. reading a book by a British author. He uses the expression “she walked out like Alice.” But that text is referring to a young woman named Virginia. And there is no Alice character in the book. And this is the only occurrence in the book of the name Alice.

    Might “she walked out like Alice” be some British idiomatic expression or jargon of which I am hopelessly ignorant?

    OT, I realize, but any insight much appreciated.

    Like

  8. Regards technology – never buy new. If your local recycling place has an electric scrap bin, rescue old laptops/wifi/printers and bring them home, wash them well and dry them out 2 weeks. Google the product and download the instruction manual.

    I have a nice “new” Fujitsu Siemens laptop awaiting my attention, i.e., I will install Ubuntu Linux and use it in my caravan in summers, or the garden on a cable extension (often the only thing broken on these systems is the battery)..

    John – if you make it to rich Bavaria you may have a surprise here. Make sure you keep the left lane on the Autobahn free for the Porsches and Lotuses.

    Like

  9. R2D4
    Could the reference be to “Alice in Wonderland”?
    She followed the White Rabbit down a large rabbit-hole under the hedge.
    “In another moment down went Alice after it, never once considering how in the world she was to get out again.”
    ther moment down went Alice after it, never once considering how in the world she was to get out again.”

    Like

  10. More information/context required but, if the work is contemporary, possibly Alice Cullen (some awful vampire series called Twilight Saga, never seen it as don’t watch tv) who seems to have a particular way of walking.

    Like

  11. Whilst the cat (aka JAW) is away I think we can continue the debate in his absence….

    Meanwhile over in the DT – shock! “Politically-correct panto bosses give Snow White’s 7 ‘dwarves’ the heigh-ho… by replacing them with ‘friends’…….. I wouldn’t have been surprised if the 7 dwarves had been replaced by 7 “refugees”…..

    Like

  12. Excellent piece. I love your phrase: “misogynist stone-age ignorance”. It definitely sums up the hideously reactionary ethos of the ayatollah types. But, I’m afraid that they will continue to be appeased by western governments, as long as they have oil. They will bend over forwards or backwards to keep them “appy” !

    Like

  13. When Mme.De Gaulle was asked by a reporter: “what she was most looking forward to in the General’s retirement?” Its reported she replied ” A penis” whereupon the General gently corrected her and said: “I think you mean ‘appiness my Dear…”

    Like

  14. There is a song about Alice where one part of the lyrics goes
    “Grew up together,
    Two kids in the park,
    Carved our initials,
    Deep in the bark,
    Me and Alice.
    Now she walks through the door,
    With her head held high,
    Just for a moment, I caught her eye,
    As a big limousine pulled slowly
    Out of Alice’s drive.”

    Like

  15. Gotta keep up appearances old boy….especially if you want to kick start a bombing campaign eh? What better way to stir the nation’s heart than a threat on dear old Queenie…

    Like

  16. +20 @ Richard Gurney, Juliet 46, WhoFlungDung, & Hieronimusb

    Many thanks to each and every one of you.

    It appears on the last page of Ch.10 in John le Carré’s ‘Call For the Dead.’ His first book, published in 1961 & 1989 with copyright renewed. Page 88 in the latest Penguin Paperback available in the US. Page 80 in an earlier UK edition.

    IMHO it’s actually a very fine book although common wisdom reports that “it was not well received.” The dates bookend the Berlin wall, up and down, and the tale told underlines the tensions concerning arming West Germany, where in ’61 we find that despite heroic efforts of George Smiley (security services) and Inspector Mendl of Special Branch, who uncover a murderous ring of Stasi operating in London and Surrey, Whitehall decides none of it ever happened because in 1961 the English in their estimation simply wouldn’t have it – the rearmament, that is. So that was kept quiet, per this tale. Reissued in ’89 as the wall was falling and Jerry reunited may have been seen as a publishing opportunity, or the old-guard clueing in the emerging young and historically clueless. I’ve no idea really.

    Chapter 10 is titled “The Virgin.” This must be Virginia Pigeon, a young and not so bright assistant at the theatre where Mendl is checking out a crucial alibi while Smiley recuperates for weeks in hospital, quite near his great reward.

    Virginia, as ticket girl who also checks valuables, is able to yield priceless information under Mendl’s crafty handling. Upon which the curtain goes down on Ch. 10, but not before the narrator bids Virginia adieu: “…she walked out like Alice.”

    Since Virginia Pigeon was rather in a world of her own — by comparison with an acting troupe, a gang of international spies, and our heroes Mendl and Smiley — it’s beginning to appear plausible to me, that British culture may have taken to speaking of ‘Alice’ while in the presence of someone else very much in their own ‘Wonderland’ rather than perform rather cruel and blatant indiscretions of etiquette.

    But it is the silent narrator who comments in that way. Maybe I’m expecting perfection of John le Carré, who knows?

    The book is a mere 157 pages, so it’s not too much of a commitment.

    .

    Like

Leave a Reply

