EXCLUSIVE: Jimmy Savile on Jimmy Savile

Thirty nine years ago, Jimmy Savile published his autobiography Love is an Uphill Thing – an interesting title to say the least of it. The Coronet paperback is out of print now, but on reading it today, one is struck not just by the signs of a self-serving psychopath at work on the job of creating an entirely plausible public figure….but also by the clues in the text.

Savile’s 1974 autobiography appears to be the unique tale of eccentric Yorkshire coalminer made good and become national treasure. It also talks repeatedly and at length about his mother ‘the Duchess’ and how she was “the only woman I ever loved”, an assertion we have to hope was metaphorical. Even that, from the post-downfall perspective, causes one to wonder what role controlling women have in nurturing paedophiles: although perhaps more interestingly, Savile’s father doesn’t get a mention (we’re not even told his name) beyond a brief reference to him having been ‘a social worker’. Maybe the pattern of abuse was paternally established: certainly, Savile records first visiting an approved school (Borstal) at the age of nine with both his parents. Was Savile senior a paedophile already? It’s an intriguing (albeit creepy) thought, and in line with field research showing a clear link between abusers and abuse perpetrated on them in childhood. It’s impossible to know from this distance, but again, it is fascinating that Savile’s first showbiz gig is as the drummer in a schoolgirl band.

In the book, he claims to have had his first date at the age of twelve with a woman of twenty. I can honestly say I’ve never met anyone who achieved that feat, but to kick off his love-life with a reverse of his later predelictions is significant, I think…especially if you have something of an Oedipus complex about your mum. (His very first idea was to put on and organise a Beauty Contest).  By page 21, the young Jimmy is already ‘regarded as strange by my mates, and there came the day when they withdrew from me and I from them’. Yorkshire miners, you see, can tell sh*t from putty. Perhaps part of what made him strange to males was his admitted fascination ‘with dead bodies and mortuaries’ early in this slim volume. That, and funerals, and the Church…and priests.

As a Catholic, Savile knew how important it was, on making one’s way in the community, to befriend priests. His closeness to them from an early age is readily apparent: ‘With the clergy I formed a sort of Manager’s Club’. Except of course we don’t hear what sort of club it was. We only have the recent track-record of priests to go on. He was also quick to spot that senior police friends could oil the wheels nicely if things got sticky: as early as the start of his dance-hall career in the 1940′s, Jimmy Savile counted Louis Harper, Chief Superintendent of Manchester Constabulary A Division, as a close friend.

His preference, he tells us on P 47, was to ‘settle in and find myself a loner girl’ wherever he happened to be. An interesting attraction to vulnerability, that. But from then on the book is largely about fame, success, charities, royalty, television, rock stars, and all the things that ultimately made him untouchable. Only from time to time is one startled by his ‘role’ when touring with the Beatles: picking up small schoolgirls at the stage door, bringing them in to meet The Boys, and then taking them back again with four autographs each. I wonder how many of those kids got waylaid on the way back to the stage door.

These clues and odd references look significant in retrospect, but would’ve gone unnoticed back then. My largest blogger boo-boo of last year was defending Savile when the charges against him first emerged. I’d been a regular at his Club for two years in the early 1960s, and while he often had young teenagers with him, that wasn’t unusual on the Manchester groups scene. I must have asked for dozens of requests from him at Beat City, and he struck me as OK. Mainly he struck me as having a lifestyle I envied.

But a close female friend of mine recalls doing some pr work for a disabled rehabilitation hospital charity when she was younger. She had a meeting with Jimmy in his ‘office’ at the hospital, and asked for the DJ’s cooperation in putting together an entertainment package for the patients. “What’s in it for me?” Savile growled. My friend was shocked. “Nothing,” she stuttered, “It would just be nice for the patients”. “Go f**k yourself,” replied the great man.

The circular debate continues about why-oh-why and how-on-earth in relation to Sir Jimmy Savile OBE. The answer is obvious: he was a cunning sexual psychopath who surrounded himself with fixer authority figures, and threatened the free press whenever they got close to him. This 1974 autobiography offers further clues as to why rather than how, and is instructive for that reason alone.  But the wider lesson to be learned from the Savile saga is this one: in a society riddled with privilege, police corruption and gargoyle media ownership, it takes a long time to get the guilty into prison. Sometimes, they never go down at all.

Last night at The Slog – putting into words what Cameron said about Europe

 

28 thoughts on “EXCLUSIVE: Jimmy Savile on Jimmy Savile

    • For some reason my browser won’t read your link as a web address, i.e. when I run the cursor over it, it’s not a “button” if you know what I mean.

  1. Lance Armstrong got away with his abuses for years with a strategy not entirely dissimilar to Saville’s.
    I suspect Mendle’sbum uses a similar technique. He was actually on the Today prog yesterday commenting on Dave’s speech. Why the f**k would we be remotely interested in the Manglebum’s opinion dear BBC?? Eh???

  2. Just my inexact recollection of the Theroux doco but he described ‘the duchess’ as extremely naive, like she didn’t even undestand how babies were made or something along those lines. Not exactly the characteristics you find in ‘controlling women’.

  3. Anna Raccoon’s blog has her interesting personal recollections about some of JS’s alleged exploits, which do not fit his “totally corrupt paedophile” image.

    • Quite the opposite, it fits totally. If you read attentively, she AGREES he was a psychopath paedophile. The posts weren’t about Savile. She never met him, but Duncroft (BTW, she wasn’t at Duncroft when the abuse took place. Nor any of former-Duncroft pupils there)

  4. Pingback: John Ward – Exclusive: Jimmy Savile On Jimmy Savile – 24 January 2013 | Lucas 2012 Infos

  5. I only met him once -fortunately. I took an instantaneous dislike to him when I observed how he treated people on and off camera. On camera he was the the Jim’ll fix it man, off camera he was a bastard. My wife was a welfare worker with the marines at RM Condor, Arbroath at the time and he had been invited to cut the ribbon at the opening of a new purpose built family centre known as a hive.
    I had come along with ‘she who must be obeyed’ to see the great man himself. Before the formal ribbon cutting happened I overheard an exchange between him and the CO of 45 commando. I don’t remember the the exact words but it went along something like this. The Colonel said something innocuous just making light conversation and Saville turned towards him with a look of venomous hatred on his face, and began giving instructions to this senior and experienced soldier as if he was some sort of lackey. The tone in his voice dripped contempt and I tensed up, I swear I would have punched the guy if he had spoken to me like that. The CO -my wife tells me he was a kind and generous man and a superb commander- coloured up, appeared about to say something but just spun on his heel and walked away.
    Back on camera again the ceremony begins and Saville walks around the room shaking hands, I waited until he came round to my side as I stood with my wife, I have no idea why I was so angered [maybe just an illusion shattered I suppose] I just was and I was going to make it a hand shake he’d remember for a hundred years. He didn’t even try to shake my hand he paused for the briefest moment in front of me and looked me in the eye then dropped his gaze quickly and moved on. I was even more annoyed now because I hadn’t crushed every metacarpel in his hand.
    After he’d gone I just hinted to my wife that I was disappointed he didn’t shake my hand and she laughed out loud. She said that everyone in the room had seem the change in me when he had the exchange with the colonel. She then said you had murder in your eyes husband it was scary looking at you, I think Mr Saville thought so too….

    • Only ever loved by the BBC, it would seem. I don’t suppose they – the BBC – will have, or indeed, will reflect on that.

      I have had one very nasty experience with a Sociopath of the Narcisisstic Personality Disorder persuasion. I ha known him for years, and then suddenly he revealed himself to me, when I challenged him about his behaviour towards a mutual friend. That was the last of them man who I thought had been a friend since college days. It’s actually frightening, deeply unsettling, and left me feeling polluted – by him. A good thing did come out of this, I will say, and that is that I now recognise such people very quickly. And run a mile.

      • Jeremy, I have had exactly the same experience with Three people, One I worked for, another a personal friend (so I thought) and another a leading business figure.

        All of those engagements were deeply traumatic and I took years to recover. I am now deeply suspicious of peoples motives when they innocently seek my friendship, which is a terrible affliction, and I can recognise Narcissists almost on sight.

  6. Me Again

    Interesting story – thanks for sharing it. I have always had a dislike for a few celebrities which I cannot put my finger on always. Hugh Grant was always one who I felt was not sincere. Seems I have a good sense for these things as he was recently exposed as a complete dipshite on camera as well as off.

  7. Well done John.
    I’ve met many people who say things like “on balance I am a nice person” who seem to think that good deeds can somehow outweigh bad ones. Its quite a dangerous mindset.
    Unfortunately, the Roman Catholic faith can be very attractive to such people – beliveing in original sin and that, through confession and absolution, bad behaviour can be excused is a moral hazard.
    Some behaviour is so bad that no millions in raising money for charity can counter-balance it. Being buried in concrete is a sign that this man – yes, he was human for all his evil deeds – knew or suspected that his past actions could catch up with him.

  8. How did they get their grubby paws on so many children without the help of many so called professionals turning a blind eye ? Isn’t it a shame we have to turn to alternative media to even get a glimpse of the truth. How many children being deliberately kidnapped by the state authorities are abused and then sold on to the highest bidder ? Read this then decide , far too many gatekeepers out their doing the state bidding. Re: Former Cllr Yvonne interview today.

    How come only the real child protectors like Yvonne & Sheena are threatened or worse killed like Nancy Scaefer . Watch all 3 parts of Innocence Destroyed on Youtube for the real truth and scale of the world child kidnappers and abusers.

    …where are the 4 granddaughters of Former Maidstone Cllr Sheena Williams , Elle-May, Ruby, Lacey & Poppy Williams-Piper stolen by KCC, who only agreed to stand for election 2007 to stop the SS stealing children and abusing families and bio-metrically finger-printing children in schools without parental consent just to get a library book. ?

    http://www.ukcolumn.org/forum/child-stealing-state/former-councillors-targeted-ss

  9. Sorry if I’ve mentioned this before but…… in 25 years of hacking, isn’t it strange that one never got to hear anything detrimental about Savile (I don’t think) via News Int. He would have been a prime target for their methods what with his ‘Royal’ connections et al.

  10. I used to own ‘As it ‘appens’ from 1974 – same book perhaps? – only because I kind of used to admire his status as a self-made man, the stuff about his life that we’ve all been spoon fed to believe.

    It’s when you read the darn thing his true colours come into plain view. His endless self-aggrandisement about the ‘birds’, fame, money, etc at first mildly amusing, started to grate after a while and left a sour taste in the mouth. I gave it away.

    What was particularly revealing was his meeting with and admiration for Elvis Presley’s manager, ‘Colonel’ Tom Parker, at best an undistinguished peasant and petty con-man, Savile admired the way Parker would rip off customers at his food stand by selling what were meant to be extra-long hot-dogs, that were merely long bread rolls with small amount of sausage at either end.

    And yes he was a psychopath in every sense of the word. I have met maybe 3 or 4 such people in my lifetime. These people are not merely assholes, I have effective ways of dealing with those. They are evil geniuses completely devoid of any sense of right and wrong, ruin lives and can spin an impenetrable web of deceit with ease..

Leave a Reply

